Our people

Our Trustees and Leadership team bring together a diverse mix of expertise – in media, mobile, brand and international development. Like everyone at Girl Effect, they share a deep and energetic commitment to empowering girls to change their lives.



Jessica Posner Odede

Based in Nairobi

Chief Creative and Programmes Officer

Jonathan McKay

Based in New York

General Counsel

Tabatha Bruce

Based in London 

Country Lead, Ethiopia

Liya Haile

Based in Addis Ababa

Head of Transformation and Inclusion

Angela Gachui

Based in Nairobi 

Head of Strategic Partnerships and Innovation

Melissa Cronin

Based in USA

Global Head of Human Resource

Njeri Kinyanjui

Based in Nairobi

Global Head of Impact

Pamela Mallinga

Based in Nairobi

Country Lead, Rwanda

Tiva Kananura

Based in Rwanda

Chief Financial Officer

Mutaf Rifat

Board Members

Chair Emeritus of Girl Effect

Maria Eitel

Chair Emeritus of Girl Effect

Head of New Product Experimentation at Facebook

Ime Archibong

UK Board Member

Senior Program Officer at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Erin Hohlfelder

USA and UK Board Member

The Times Group, India

Trishla Jain

USA and UK Board Member

Chairman of UKI Investments

Jacob Schimmel

UK Board Member

Co Chair/ Board Member, The Moth

Deborah Dugan

USA Board Member

Manager - External Affairs for East and Southern Africa, World Bank Group

Edith Jibunoh

USA Board Member

Leader, Head of Spencer Stuart CEO practice

Jim Citrin

USA Board Member

Chair of Girl Effect and Chairman of the Board of Condé Nast

Jonathan Newhouse

USA and UK Board Chair

General Partner at Canaan

Nina Kjellson

USA Board Member

Producer, director, actor and activist

Salma Hayek Pinault

USA Board Member

Venture Partner at Atlantica Ventures and co-founder of tech businesses BRCK Inc. and Ushahidi Inc.

Juliana Rotich

USA Board Member

Soccer champion and entrepreneur

Alex Morgan

USA Board Member 

VP, Chief Public Policy & Social Impact Officer, NIKE, Inc. & President, NIKE Foundation

Jorge G. Casimiro

USA and UK Board Member

Executive Director, Serum Institute of India

Natasha Poonawalla

USA Board Member